Ciancio Ciancio Brown, P.C.
(303) 872-8919
(800) 746-3560

Leaders in Litigation

What happens if an uninsured driver hits you in Colorado?

A car accident shakes up everything. Even the best-case scenario is an inconvenience with major complications. An uninsured driver makes matters messier. You could be amid high medical bills, lost income and other side effects of a bad crash. Now the person who caused such a disaster is not covered, and cannot cover you.

If person the who hit you does not have insurance, what can you do?

After the accident

When you are involved in a collision with an uninsured driver, your well-being is on the line. You might worry about how you will be fully compensated. Despite the frustration you feel, it is important to jump into action. If this happens, follow these first few steps:

  • Information. You should get the driver’s contact information first. Collect any insurance information they might have and give it to your insurance company immediately.
  • Signed statement. Some insurance companies require a signature from the uninsured driver. This statement clarifies and confirms that the driver does not have insurance.
  • Submit a claim. After you gather all the information you need, submit a claim to your own car insurance company.

What happens next?

Under Colorado law, insurance companies selling automobile insurance are required to offer uninsured motorist insurance, unless otherwise specified. This type of coverage will take the at-fault driver’s place and recover anywhere from $25,000 to $100,000 of your total damages.

It is possible that some insurance companies try to maneuver around this law by using “anti-stacking” language. Insurance agents may try to lower your premium. While this saves you money, it reduces their liability and limits your safety net. It can leave you and your family unprotected in the event of an accident.

If you find yourself in a situation where the at-fault driver is uninsured, there are options out there. It is wise to contact your insurance company immediately and check on your policy. There is a chance they will cover damages caused by the other driver. If not, the next step might be to sue the driver in Colorado court.

Email us your case details

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Broomfield Office
390 Interlocken Crescent
Suite 350
Broomfield, CO 80021

Toll Free: 800-746-3560
Phone: 303-872-8919
Fax: 303-464-8000
Map & Directions

Denver Office
1660 Lincoln Street
Suite 2000
Denver, Colorado 80264

Toll Free: 800-746-3560
Phone: 303-395-4773
Fax: 303-464-8000
Map & Directions

Breckenridge Office
106 North French Street
Suite 230
Breckenridge, CO 80424

Toll Free: 800-746-3560
Phone: 970-285-3077
Fax: 303-464-8000
Map & Directions

Privacy Policy | Business Development Solutions by FindLaw, part of Thomson Reuters.