Ciancio Ciancio Brown, P.C.
(303) 872-8919
(800) 746-3560

Leaders in Litigation

How many Colorado DUI arrestees had prior DUIs?

DUI charges can have serious consequences in Colorado. The driver owes hundreds of dollars in fines and court costs as well as a potential prison sentence and license suspension. With all the trouble individuals go through in these charges, you would think that most of them would avoid drinking before getting behind the wheel in the future.

Unfortunately, that does not appear to be the case. A recent report by the Colorado Division of Criminal Justice featuring data from 27,000 DUI cases in 2016 shows the percentage of people that participate in this illegal activity and how many of them already had a DUI conviction prior to their arrest. These reports are imperative in helping Colorado understand what needs improvement on the road.

High numbers for men and former DUI drivers

In terms of gender and age convictions, the report found that nearly 3 out of 4 motorists with DUIs in 2016 were men and over 30 percent of them were in their 20s. Men were also far more likely to have prior DUIs than women. Colorado is not the only state that primarily has young men, and many cite inexperience, college atmospheres and the drinking age as why individuals in their 20s are more likely to commit a DUI.

What’s concerning is that around 38 percent of arrests were repeat offenses. Nearly 2 out of 5 DUI arrests were from someone who already committed one. Most of these were not innocent either, as there was a 92 percent conviction rate for DUIs involving alcohol and the toxicology reports and screenings had over 85 percent conviction rates.

The consequences of failing to learn from mistakes

As with all states, the penalties from a DUI increase with subsequent offenses within a short time frame. The guilty will have their license suspended for up to a year rather than nine months, their fines will be a maximum of $1,500 rather than $1,000, they will have to perform additional public service, and second offense DUIs also require drivers to install an ignition interlock device into their cars. These charges significantly worsen if the driver seriously injures another motorist or is driving with a suspended license.

However, the ones who have to pay for repeated negligent DUI offenses the most are arguably the other Colorado drivers. Many motorists can be at serious risk from a driver that commits frequent DUI offenses from the crashes and holdups they cause. If you or a loved one were seriously injured from one of these drivers, you have the right to seek compensation for your injuries. You do not deserve to be the victim of a drunk driver who refuses to learn their lesson.

Email us your case details

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Broomfield Office
390 Interlocken Crescent
Suite 350
Broomfield, CO 80021

Toll Free: 800-746-3560
Phone: 303-451-0300
Fax: 303-464-8000
Map & Directions

Denver Office
1660 Lincoln Street
Suite 2000
Denver, Colorado 80264

Toll Free: 800-746-3560
Phone: 303-451-0300
Fax: 303-464-8000
Map & Directions

Breckenridge Office
106 North French Street
Suite 230
Breckenridge, CO 80424

Toll Free: 800-746-3560
Phone: 303-451-0300
Fax: 303-464-8000
Map & Directions

Privacy Policy | Business Development Solutions by FindLaw, part of Thomson Reuters.