If you’re facing a DUI charge or recently received a traffic ticket in Denver, contact Ciancio Ciancio Brown, P.C. for a consultation about your legal rights with one of our experienced Denver DUI defense lawyers. We accept clients in Denver, Broomfield, Westminster and the surrounding areas.
Driving under the influence charges (DUIs) and related offenses can pose a serious impediment to your driving privileges. In addition, a conviction can result in a range of other penalties, from hefty fines and license suspension to jail time and the installation of an ignition interlock device. Even offenses that are less serious than a DUI, such as a traffic ticket for speeding or reckless driving, can have severe penalties in Colorado.
Why Choose Our Denver DUI and Traffic Ticket Defense Attorneys?
At Ciancio Ciancio Brown, P.C., our Denver DUI and traffic violations defense lawyers have more than 40 years of combined experience. We have served as prosecutors in Adams County, and one of our attorneys is a former municipal judge. As a result of this outstanding experience, we have handled countless DUI, DWAI, and traffic cases from both sides of the courtroom. We draw on a wealth of collective insights to provide exceptional criminal defense representation.
What is a DUI?
State law defines driving under the influence of alcohol as exceeding a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level of 0.08 while operating a motor vehicle or within a reasonable time thereafter. This is the legal BAC limit for standard drivers. It is reduced to 0.04 percent for commercial drivers and 0.02 for drivers under the age of 21. It is also possible for a driver to be arrested for DUI with a BAC below the legal limit if he or she is exhibiting signs of impairment.
Colorado also has a crime known as DWAI – driving while ability impaired. This is a lesser offense than driving under the influence. It is a charge that can be brought against a driver with a BAC of greater than 0.05 percent but less than 0.08. Contrary to what many people think, drunk driving is not the only way of getting a DUI/DWAI. You can also be arrested and charged for driving under the influence of marijuana, painkillers, sleep aids and other types of drugs that impair your abilities, even if you had a valid prescription for them.
Penalties for DUI/DWAI in Colorado
Getting a DUI or DWAI in Colorado can have both administrative and criminal penalties. DUI administrative penalties come from the Colorado Department of Revenue, while criminal penalties are imposed by a judge in the criminal courts upon the conviction of a defendant. Your BAC at the time of the offense will determine the level of offense as well as the potential penalties:
Underage DUI: 0.02 and above. Driver’s license suspension for three months to one year, four points on the driver’s license, a fine of $15 to $300, up to 24 hours of mandatory public service and up to 90 days in jail for a repeat offender.
DWAI: 0.05 to 0.079. No license suspension, but eight points on the license, 2 to 180 days in jail, a fine of $200 to $500 and 24 to 48 hours of public service.
DUI: 0.08 and above. Nine months of driver’s license suspension, 12 points on the license, 5 days to 1 year in jail, $600 to $1,000 in fines and 48 to 96 hours of public service.
If you blow a BAC at or above 0.20 percent or are a repeat offender, you will face mandatory jail time. Note that the penalties for DUI and DWAI increase exponentially with second, third and subsequent convictions. Both DUI and DWAI can result in loss of your driving privileges and the mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device for two years if you blow a BAC of 0.17 and above or are a repeat offender. This burdensome device requires you to blow into a Breathalyzer before the vehicle will start.
Traffic violations can have a serious impact on your driving privileges. Colorado uses a points system to determine how a violation will impact your license. If you acquire a certain number of points within a 12-month period, you could face license suspension or revocation in addition to steep fines.
We capably handle all types of traffic offenses, including:
Driving under the influence of alcohol or marijuana
You don’t have to accept a traffic ticket – and the potentially serious consequences – without a fight. Police officers make mistakes; many traffic tickets can be successfully argued against and dismissed. The Denver criminal defense lawyers at Ciancio Ciancio Brown, P.C. understand how the traffic court works in Denver County and how to fight minor to major traffic tickets on behalf of their clients.
What to Do if You’re Arrested for DUI or Get a Traffic Ticket in Denver
If you get arrested for allegedly driving under the influence or driving while ability impaired, try to remain calm and don’t resist the arrest. Avoid answering questions asked by the police officer (other than giving your name if asked for your identity). During the traffic stop, if you refuse the Breathalyzer test, you will face automatic driver’s license suspension. You are lawfully permitted to refuse a field sobriety test, however.
Use your right to remain silent and the right to legal counsel if you’re arrested. Don’t say anything to the cops about where you’ve been, where you’re going or how much you’ve had to drink. Make a phone call to a Denver DUI defense attorney immediately upon being booked for a DUI. If you have received a traffic ticket or infraction for an alleged moving violation, contact our lawyers without delay to request our assistance at a hearing. We will craft a defense strategy based on your specific case.
Contact a Denver DUI and Traffic Ticket Defense Lawyer Today
To arrange an initial consultation with one of our seasoned defense lawyers, contact us.
Litigation is a journey. This is a journey we have taken with our clients a countless number of times. If you face the uncertainty, risk, fear, anger, or disbelief that comes with the prospect of going through a legal dispute, the law firm of Ciancio Ciancio Brown, P.C. will help you through it.